Good evening, everyone! I would like to direct all of you to the following link:
Soundike
Notice anything strange about that? If you don’t, go here:
CLLCT
Now do you see anything strange? Oh my - they’re selling my CD! For money! When it’s obviously free right there!
I’m slightly honored, but mostly annoyed. What really bothers me the most is that they have the following quote on their website:
“Our music service is absolutely legal in all countries and all states.”
Like, woah. That’s a pretty bold statement! I would like to humbly disagree; just because it’s legal in Tijuana or Taiwan or wherever the hell Soundike (what the hell kind of name is that, anyway?) is located, doesn’t mean it’s legal in other places.
So, what do I do? I call piracy! Yeah, you heard me right. Soundike is reverse-pirating my free music and trying to make money off of it! I demand retribution!
So, Soundike, I’m giving you until 12 PM tomorrow night to compensate me, or I shall call the RIAA!
My demanded payment? I demand a hundred well-groomed kittens, delivered to my house promptly! Also, they must be carried to my home via fancy couch - any crates and heads will roll.
SOUNDIKE, BEWARE! YOUR TIME HAS COME, THE SECRET OWL HATH SPOKEN!



I saw they were selling my stuff too. I can’t imagine anyone actually buying my songs from some place like that.
Yeah, I know what you mean. It doesn’t really bother me that much, honestly, but it’s still irritating.
I need to put up a legal thing on CLLCT that states all the music is property of the artist and may not be used without their permission, or something. I’m too poor for a lawyer.
Jeez, that really sucks. Is there anything that you can actually do about that though? I mean, honestly that site seems like such an illegitimate little hole in the wall that I doubt anyone would actually buy something from there, but just the fact that they’re putting stuff from this website up is just frustrating. But is there any legal mumbo-jumbo on the CLLCT site right now saying that it’s not allowed?
Funny thing, cuz one of the MP3’s I bought from there had a built in comment stating:
www.torrentazos.com
What does that tell me? They download CD’s from other sites for Free and then sell them for money. I think this goes deeper, I think they’re pirating music that even should be paid for. That’s stupid though. BTW they’re Russion. Personally, due to their past and history as being cheap low-life selfish people, I dislike them. I’m sorry if you are russion =)
Hmm I made some Kontakt kits available for free downloads under CC license and it was on one of those paid torrent places.
@jake Fake, I hate people who generalize and dislike a whole nation. I am from Holland btw, so not a russian lowlife…
Also Secret Owl, Why not get a javascript pop up window with the option to choose a CC lisence or private, when you release an album or EP on cllct? like on archive.org.
This way all meterial is CC licensed or people can set their own info
all of that stuff is Russian websites. I’ve noticed this with my stuff before. if you send them emails all they’ll do is ask you if you’d like to set up an account with them so they can pay you for what they sell. it’s horseshit but… nobodys gonna buy them.
-Adam
I actually use soundike… i dont give a shit if its illegal or not, its got incredibly good deals. It has all the hot stuff on it for 15 cents a song, which can’t be beat. All songs are DRM free, so you can just pop them into iTunes.
I HIGHLY recommend using Soundike.com if your on a budget but still love music.
and plus, i don’t think anyone has even bought songs from your album on that site so fyi they aren’t making much money off you…
I used to use them….’til they disappeared with my cash….
Seems like the site has disappeared with everyone’s cash.